The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has announced the deregistration of 74 political parties in the country.

With the development, Nigeria now has 18 political parties ahead next general elections.

The national chairman of the Commission, Professor Mahmoud Yakubu, made the disclosure at a press briefing on Thursday in Abuja.

Professor Yakubu said the 74 parties did not meet the requirements for their continued existence as political parties.

He equally released September 19 and October 10, 2020, as dates for Edo and Ondo States governorship elections, respectively.